Gelatin—a protein product made from animal-based collagen—is used in multiple food applications because of its extraordinary functional properties. However, it has limited consumer acceptance in some countries and there is currently no vegetarian-based alternative that can perfectly replicate the thickening and gelling properties of gelatin.
In particular, the existing vegetarian alternatives are unable to produce the creamy, aerated texture when used as an aerating additive for cream cheese, without increasing protein and fat. Neither can it be successfully used as a gelling agent in products like jelly candies.
A leading snacks company is seeking a plant-based natural gelatin substitute that can meet Kosher/halal requirements. The solution must have the same texture building properties as standard gelatin, and be suitable for aerating and as an additive for dairy or other sweet applications.
The solution sought must meet the following specifications:
Possible approaches include:
The company is not interested in ingredients that: